Will it be Lewandowski? Here the gala runs on TV and live stream

The Ballon d’Or 2021 will be awarded on Monday evening. Bayern striker Robert Lewandowski is one of the closest favorites. t-online explains where you can watch the freestyle from Paris live.

It is the greatest individual award in professional football – does it go to a Bundesliga superstar this year? When the “Ballon d’Or” is awarded tonight at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, two greats from the top German league will also be in the running – alongside the youngster and goal machine Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Robert Lewandowski is the main focus. The FC Bayern Munich striker is one of the favorites in the race for the coveted award.

Last year, the 33-year-old was crowned world footballer by Fifa – the award given in 1956 by the French specialist magazine “France Football” is, however, far more prestigious and steeped in tradition than the world association’s award (since 1991). In 2020, the prize was not awarded as a result of the corona pandemic; previously, either Lionel Messi (five times) or Cristiano Ronaldo (four times) won the award in nine of the last ten awards. Only Croatian midfield star Luka Modric was able to break the phalanx of the two overplayers in 2018. Will “Lewa” make it in 2021?

t-online explains where and how you can follow the awarding of the “Ballon d’Or”.

Where is the Ballon d’Or on TV?

Bild TV will be the only free-to-air TV station to show the award ceremony live – the tabloid channel will begin broadcasting at 7.15 p.m. Sky Sport News will be live on pay TV from 8:30 p.m.

Where will the Ballon d’Or be broadcast live?

In parallel to the offer on Sky Sport News, skysport.de is showing the award live on the Internet, the broadcast starts here at 8 p.m. The Servus TV service is also offering a free live stream at servustv.com/sport, with preliminary reporting starting at 6:45 p.m. – and in the original English language. Francophile football fans should enjoy the Youtube channel of the French sports newspaper L’Équipe, which also broadcasts live.

Who are the nominees?

Insgesamt 30 Spieler sind in der Auswahl: César Azpilicueta (FC Chelsea), Nicolo Barella (Inter Mailland), Kerim Benzema (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus Turin), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus Turin) , Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus Turin / Manchester United), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Mailand / PSG), Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund), Jorginho ( FC Chelsea), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), N’Golo Kanté (FC Chelsea), Simon Kjaer (AC Mailand), Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern), Romelu Lukaku (Inter Mailland / FC Chelsea), Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City) , Lautaro Martinez (Inter Mailland), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona / PSG), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Gerard Moreno (FC Villarreal), Mason Mount (FC Chelsea), Neymar (PSG), Pedri (FC Barcelona), Mo Salah (FC Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Luis Suarez (Atlético Madrid).

In addition to the Ballon d’Or for the best footballer, the best goalkeeper is also awarded the “Yashin Trophy”. Ten goalkeepers are nominated, and Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer can also hope for the prize.

In addition, the “Ballon d’Or Feminin” will be awarded to the best female soccer player of the past calendar year from among 20 players.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.