Who will be a FIFA World Player? – Real goalie Courtois senses a conspiracy before the world goalkeeper election


On January 17, 2022, FIFA will once again elect the best footballers. There are no real surprises with the nominees, only the real goalie is angry.


Anamaria Peyer

Nils Hänggi

1 / 12

Who will be crowned “Best FIFA Men’s Player” this year?

imago images/Gribaudi/ImagePhoto

The nominees include: Lionel Messi (Paris St Germain)

The nominees include: Lionel Messi (Paris St Germain)


Mohammed Salah (Liverpool FC)

Mohammed Salah (Liverpool FC)


  • At the beginning of the new year, the best footballers in the world will be re-elected.

  • Now the list with the nominees has come out.

  • The event will take place in Zurich on January 17, 2022.

Who will replace Robert Lewandowski as a FIFA world footballer? Or is the Pole defending his title? This question will be clarified on January 17, 2022. Then the best footballers and goalkeepers in the world meet at a big gala in Zurich. It is now also clear who is one of the nominees.

In addition to Lewandowski, ten other candidates are available for election. Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Karim Benzema, for example (you can find all nominees in the picture gallery above). Lionel Messi has won the competition the most (six times), the Portuguese superstar Ronaldo follows closely with five titles.

Real goalie is pissed off

Bayern star Manuel Neuer, Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG), Edouard Mendy (Chelsea) and Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City) are nominated for the goalkeepers. Goalkeeper favorites include Alisson Becker, Manuel Neuer and PSG goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma. Real goalie Thibaut Courtois (29), however, does not. A fact that doesn’t make the Belgian happy at all.

Compared to the «Marca» he raged: «I will not comment on why I am not nominated. I think it’s due to something I commented on a month ago, but don’t care. Unit prices are not the most important thing. ” What does the 29-year-old think? Well – a few weeks ago Courtois described games like the game for third place in the Nations League as a pure “fight for money”. And further: “And let’s be honest: We just play it because it means extra money for Uefa. We can injure ourselves because we are not robots. ”

A jury and a public vote will decide who will win the prize this year. However, it can be assumed that there will be no big surprises. The Fifa world footballer, world coach and trainer as well as the Fair Play and Fan Award and the Puskas Award for Goal of the Year are also awarded. The Ballon d’Or will also be awarded on Monday.

We are giving away exclusive 4×2 tickets for the Bundesliga match Bayern Munich-VfL Wolfsburg on December 17th.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.