Vezenkov entered the history of the Euroleague


Bulgarian national player Alexander Vezenkov left his name in the history of the EuroLeague in men’s basketball after winning the “Alphonso Ford” trophy for the tournament’s best scorer for the 2022/2023 season. The Olympiakos forward averaged 17.24 points in 38 games during the campaign, leading the Greeks to the final four of the competition.

The Alfonso Ford Trophy is awarded annually to the EuroLeague player with the highest points average. It is the only EuroLeague end-of-season award based solely on statistics, and Vezenkov earned it after topping the scoring charts for most of the season. The Bulgarian edged out Wade Baldwin for the honor in one of the most contested fights in the history of the trophy. The Maccabi Tel Aviv guard finished second with 17.17 points per game. Will Clyburn of Anadolu Efes Istanbul finished third with an average of 16.7 points per game.

Top Sports Betting Odds!

Vezenkov scored at least 20 points in each of his first four games and a total of 15 times in 33 regular season contests. His personal record for the season is from the 24th round, when against ALBA Berlin he distinguished himself with 28 points and 13 rebounds for one of his eight “double-doubles”. Vezenkov has also been amazingly consistent, scoring in double figures in all but five of his 38 games this season and making multiple 3-pointers in more than two-thirds of the games.

This season’s scoring is a career high for Vezenkov, who ranked 13th the previous season with an average of 13.7 points. He also led the Euroleague in ERA (21.2) and finished second in rebounds (6.8).

Read more:  The City Council enables a new parking area in Santa Isabel with 32 spaces

The 27-year-old basketball player became the second Olympiakos player to achieve the honor after Linas Kleiza in 2009/2010. Scorer number 1 in the Euroleague is a title that is associated with one of the legends of the Greek great Alphonso Ford, who left this world in 2004 after a battle with leukemia. He is the last holder of the league scoring record, averaging 22.2 points in 54 total games.

Vezenkov is the 14th recipient of the Alphonso Ford Award, since it was first presented in 2005. Before him, Igor Rakocevic (3), Keith Lagford (2), Alexey Shved (2), Vasilie Micic, Mike James, Nando de Colo, Tyler Rochesti, Bobby Brown, Bo McCaleb, Linas Kleiza, Mark Salyers, Drew Nicholas received this honor and Charles Smith.

#Vezenkov #entered #history #Euroleague
2023-05-12 11:35:24


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.