This is what really happens when you mute someone on Messenger

Ads

First developed as Facebook Chat in 2008, Facebook Messenger was introduced to social media users as a standalone app in 2011. Years later, instead of being able to start private conversations with people on Facebook, everyone was forced to download a separate app for these private chats.

Although millions of users have moved from Facebook Messenger to alternative platforms like Instagram, Twitter or text messages, there are still many people who rely on Facebook Messenger to talk with their friends and loved ones.

But what happens when those conversations go wrong or you just need a break? Facebook Messenger offers the option to “mute”. Here’s what happens when you mute someone on Messenger and how it’s different from blocking.

What happens when you mute someone on Messenger?

What would be a valid reason to mute someone on Messenger? If you’re tired of receiving notifications from people continually messaging or calling you using the app, the mute button is a great resource. Open the app and swipe left on the conversation you want to mute. Click on “More” and then on “Mute”. You will have the option to mute notifications for messages, calls, or both.

Source: Facebook Messenger

Depending on your needs, you can choose to mute notifications from a particular person for 15 minutes, an hour, eight hours, a whole day, or… well, forever.

When you mute someone on Messenger, no major changes are made to the other end. The person’s messages will still come to you, but you’ll notice that you no longer get a noisy notification when it’s received.

Source: Facebook Messenger

If it’s obvious no one has opened your messages in a long time, they may have been the one to mute you. Since Facebook doesn’t actually tell you if you’ve been muted or not, it’s all down to speculation, which means there’s no need to jump to conclusions. The good news is that if someone else mutes you, it’s still possible to see if they’re online or not.

If someone else has muted you, you can still send them a message while they’re on mute. Your message will reach them, but they may not see it right away since they won’t receive a notification.

Do you have your father muted on Facebook Messenger or are you normal?

— 💔🔪 ava dasar 🔪💔 (@avadasar) June 11, 2020 Being muted on Messenger is different from being blocked.

There’s a big difference between being muted on Facebook Messenger and being completely blocked. When muted, your messages will still get through to the person they’re meant for… they’ll just pass through silently.

However, when locked, you will not be able to send any messages. There are a few easy ways you can find out if someone has completely blocked you. The first way is to search for his name in your friends list.

You are a true friend of mine if you are muted on my Facebook messenger

— Prendy (@PrendyTSS) September 30, 2021

If their name no longer appears, it is a sign that you have been blocked. You will then not be able to tag that person in any new posts. If you try to search for the name in your tag bar, it will be impossible to find them.

Third, you won’t be able to attach that person’s name to events or groups on Facebook. You will also not be able to see their updates in your feed. You won’t even be able to find them in the general Facebook search bar.

Ads

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Pocket
WhatsApp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.