This is the line-up of the Dutch national team against Montenegro

19:17 – Louis van Gaal has announced the line-up of the Dutch national team for the World Cup qualifier against Montenegro. Compared to the meeting with Norway (1-1), the national coach has made three changes. Denzel Dumfries, Matthijs de Ligt and Tyrell Malacia are new in the base. The match in the Philips Stadium will start at 8.45 pm.

Van Gaal did not want to say much about the line-up towards the game against Montenegro on Friday. Gradually the press meeting did the national coach miss a few things. For example, Van Gaal revealed that Steven Berghuis would keep his base place despite his mediocre performance in Oslo, De Vrij would start and Denzel Dumfries would take over the right back position from Jurriën Timber.

Towards the match in Eindhoven it became clear that Van Gaal intended to make two more changes. As expected, Virgil van Dijk, who made his return to the Dutch national team in Norway after a long injury, is getting some rest. Matthijs de Ligt, who was suspended due to his red card at the European Championship against the Czech Republic, will form the heart of the defense together with De Vrij.

Malacia’s starting position does not come as a big surprise either. The left back of Feyenoord plays instead of Daley Blind, who took a yellow card against Norway and is serving a suspension on Saturday evening. Furthermore, Van Gaal will stick to the names that also started in Norway on Wednesday. These are in addition to the aforementioned players Justin Bijlow, Frenkie de Jong, Davy Klaassen, Georginio Wijnaldum, Memphis Depay and Cody Gakpo.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket
Share on whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.