Shared with you brings photos from Messages to the Photos app, so we can manage your options

With the arrival of iOS 15 and macOS 12 Monterey, Apple introduced an important new feature in Messages. We are talking about Shared with you, a system that deals with distribute the content we receive among the different applications where are we going to see it? Thus, if we receive a link it stays in Safari, a song in Music, and if we receive a photo, it stays in the Photos app.

The photos in Photos, where they should be

One of the benefits of using Shared with you in Photos is that no need to save images anymore that we receive manually. The system takes care of saving the most important ones directly for us. In addition, the images are tagged as received from a certain person, so we can respond directly from the Photos app.

Depending on our use of Messages and Photos, the system may, on the other hand, have some disadvantages. The main one is that the images that appear in Photos disappear when we delete the original conversation or file from the Messages app, or it is deleted automatically. Another is that, from some people, we will not want to save the images received.

Seen what has been seen, it is possible to want to deactivate the functionality for some users. The steps to do so are as follows:

  1. We open the app Posts on our iPhone, iPad or Mac.
  2. We enter the conversation with the person who interests us.
  3. On the iPhone or iPad we touch the image/name at the top, on the Mac we touch the “i”.
  4. We deactivate the option Show in shared with you.

If what we want is to deactivate the Shared with you function for all photos that we receive the steps to follow, on our iPhone or iPad, are these:

  1. We open the app Settings on our iPhone or iPad.
  2. We came in Posts.
  3. we touch on shared with you.
  4. We deactivate Photos.

While, on the mac, the steps, although very similar, are as follows:

  1. We open the app Posts on our Mac.
  2. On the menu Posts we choose preferences.
  3. We enter the tab shared with you.
  4. We deactivate Photos.

With these options deactivated, the photos that we receive by message will never leave the Messages app. So if we want retain some of the images we receive we must do it manually by tapping the save button next to each image.

As we have already started by saying, this feature has, depending on the use to which we are accustomed to giving both Photos and Messages, advantages and disadvantages. It’s very probable that let’s value the automation of which the system is capable. Thanks to it we can, for example, be looking at the photos of a trip that we did and see how the photos taken by other members of the trip, who have sent us, are included in the pass or in the memory.

See the time a message was sent in a conversation in the Messages app

On the other hand, although many of us may appreciate that some of the images received are kept in photos where we can see them again in their context without having to go back in a conversation, others will prefer to continue doing the selection and saving manually. Fortunately, whatever our preference, the system offers us the options to customize the function.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest
Pocket
WhatsApp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.