Home sport Nitto ATP Finals 2021: the current situation

Nitto ATP Finals 2021: the current situation

by drbyos

the ATP Finals have said goodbye to London’s O2 Arena after ten years and are preparing for a new phase of their existence in Turin, Italy, where the 2021 edition will take place. Turin will host the Masters at the Palasport Olimpico at the end of the year until 2025.

Of the eight who have qualified for the edition that closes this season, four are currently already with the passport in hand: Novak Djokovic, Daniil Medvedev, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Alexander Zverev, plus two others who are just waiting for the Mathematics certifies their respective qualifications, Andrey Rublev and Matteo Berrettini.

For the last two places, however, the question becomes interesting: Casper Ruud (3015 points) and Hubert Hurkacz (2955) are currently the last two to get on, but to undermine them there are actually Cameron Norrie (2795) and Jannik Sinner ( 2595), while Felix Auger-Aliassime (2330) and Aslan Karatsev (2030) are further away, but with various tournaments yet to be played – including the Paris Rolex Masters, never say never.

ATP Finals 2021: the current situation

This week the only protagonist is Rublev, who, as already mentioned, is almost certain of a place among the 8 players in Turin. For Jannik Sinner, for example, it would be essential to win the 250 points that are at stake in Antwerp: Sinner would counter Norrie, distance him by 50 points and set Hurkcaz down to 90 points.

When reaching the final, Jannik would fall 50 points behind the British. It is therefore important that the Italian tries to do well this week, because then two ATP 500 and one ATP 250 will be available, but all in the same week, obviously before the Masters 1000 in Paris-Bercy.

See also  Tennis star achieves partial success in the dispute over a new building

In view of the last editions, the titles of 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 were won by Novak Dokovic, who first defeated Roger Federer, then Rafael Nadal and again twice Roger Federer in the finals, becoming the first player in history four times in a row Masters to win (fifth overall).

In 2016, the Serbian champions were again in the final, but lost to Andy Murray. In 2017, Grigor Dimitrov won and defeated David Goffin in the final. In 2018 Dokovic returns to the final, but is defeated by Alexander Zverev.

In 2019 Stefanos Tsitsipas defeated Dominic Thiem in three sets. Thiem also reached the final in 2020, but was defeated by Daniil Medvedev with the score 4-6, 7-6 (2), 6-4.

Related Videos

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.