FIFA World Players 2021: Which players are nominated for The Best?

Who will as World Footballer:in of the FIFA excellent? This question will be January 17, 2022 in the The Best-Gala answered.

Last year, Robert Lewandowski (FC Bayern) and Lucy Bronze (Manchester City) secured the coveted award from the world association. The two are also among the nominees this year.

However, the favorites are Lionel Messi (PSG) and Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona), who will already be in November 2021 France Soccer won the Ballon d’Or. Who can still hope?

FIFA World Players 2021: Which players are nominated? GOAL provides an overview!

FIFA World Player 2021: Which players are nominated?

A total of eleven players have been nominated by FIFA to be named World Player of the Year. This is to be chosen based on their achievements in the period from October 8, 2020 to August 6, 2021.

Four parties can vote. The current coaches of all women’s national teams, the current captains of all women’s national teams, a specialist journalist from each country represented by a national team and registered fans on are entitled to vote. Which players had the chance to succeed Lucy Bronze?

World Player: The nominees

On January 7, FIFA then announced the three finalists for the world footballer election. Last year’s bronze medalist will certainly not be able to defend her title. The following players can hope:

  • Jennifer Beautiful
  • Sam Kerr
  • Alexia Putellas

Putellas Ball

FIFA World Players 2021: Which players are nominated?

Eleven players also made it into the pre-selection for the men and could hope for the award. The period of the considered services and election procedures are identical.

Two players from the Bundesliga have made the list, dominated by the Premier League, which boasts five players.

World footballers: The nominees

It is now also clear among the men that only three players are still eligible for the title of world footballer.

Logically, as with the women, the Ballon d’Or winner is Messi. The other two professionals are last year’s winner Lewandowski and Liverpool star Salah.

Lionel Messi Ballon d

The Best FIFA Football Awards: The world footballer gala at a glance


The Best FIFA Football Awards


January 17, 2022


Zurich, Switzerland

world footballer in the previous year

Men: Robert Lewandowski

Women: Lucy Bronze


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket
Share on whatsapp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.